Day 6: Low Gap Shelter – mile 43.2

Hiked 11.5 Official AT miles + 1 mile

This morning at the hostel we all put in enough donations in a jar so they made us all pancakes. I had 4 plus a banana and lots of syrup, so I was feeling pretty awesome starting the day. I had a hiking partner who is pretty fast so I tried keeping up with him (at least for the first few miles). We started at like 7:20 and it was lightly raining the first 2 hrs and cold. It was cool though when we were above the clouds and could see them above the trees.

For the first 7 miles I was killing it. So pumped and thinking I could make it really far. Only one of my knees hurt at the beginning. It was pretty bad, but I could deal, and I was hopeful cuz my right knee felt almost normal and that’s the one that hurt at the beginning, but it started hurting some at the end. And the left one started hurting worse than ever. I’m reeeeally hoping its better tomorro and I can continue a few more days before going to town cuz I like my new hiker buddy but if I go into town tomorro night or sat morning, all the people I know will get ahead of me

Tonight I got talked into staying inside a shelter for the first time instead of in my tent outside. There’s 7 in here, which is pretty tight. Hopefully no mice crawl in my mouth over night

About Katie

I am Christian. I am the founder and Executive Director of Extraordinary Extras, a nonprofit which will use Fun Education to Fight Poverty in Developing Countries. Until the day I can move to the Philippines to start our first program, to make ends meet, I play poker for a living. I like to help people. I love hiking and aerial silks. I love Hip Hop and R&B music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment