Lots of zero days

Well I haven’t hiked since Friday morning 😦 The doc basically told me I should prolly just go home, but I want to give it one last shot. I’m hoping to hike out Wed or Thurs morning. I stayed at the Budget Inn Fri til this morning, but all the people I knew were gone by this morning, so I didnt want to pay more to have a room by myself.

I had only hiked to mile 44, but after that was just a lot more downhills and rocky terrain (like the beginning which destroyed my knees), so I decided to find out where it would be mostly uphills because although it is exhausting and hard, it’s not as painful. Going into the Smokies from Fontana Dam is just a big long climb. Up, up, and up, and then some flat and rolling terrain, and not much downhill til 60 miles in. I’m hoping all this rest and then not going straight back into downhills will allow my knees to heal.

So I got a shuttle to bring me up to the “Fontana Hilton” which is just one of the shelters along the trail. It’s just nicer than the others. For those who don’t know, every so often on the trail, there are shelters (usually every 6-10 miles) where hikers can stay. Usually there’s camping areas close by, so people can still tent out there and use the privy, fire pit, picnic tables, and usually a water source nearby. The shelters are usually just 3 sided buildings with platforms where people can set up their sleeping pad and bag. A few people only stay in shelters so they don’t have to carry a tent. This is only my second night in a shelter. I’m mainly only staying in it cuz this one is so nice, but I may move out in my tent tomorro night if it is unpleasant. I froze the first night I was in the shelter cuz the wind gets in. And there’s lots of mice. I freaked out a little when one crawled over my face.

It is fun to stay at the shelter tho cuz u get community. There’s like 12 of us here tonight. This one is supposed to hold up to 20 but if it ever rains I can see up to like 32 people fitting in here. It’s a double decker. There’s a dude playing an acoustic guitar in the corner. It’s pretty cool. Hopefully there are no snorers tonight

This shelter just has a lot of pluses. The view here is awesome. Ill prolly go out somewhere secluded and pretty tomorro to read for a few hrs. There is a bathroom like 100 ft uphill that has a shower, toilet paper, and clean water, which is all super awesome. So luxurious.

When I hike into the Smokies, I have to get through that 70 miles in 8 days. You have to have a permit and u aren’t allowed more time than that. That would be really easy for everyone else to do, but with my knee, I was planning on lots of 5 or 6 mile days. So we will see how that works out. That’s assuming I’m able to even hike that far. After my zero day in Neels Gap, it was super painful after like 8 miles, so if its still that bad, I won’t get anywhere, and ill have to fly home 😦

Right now my knee doesn’t hurt much, except when I wake up or when I walk or bend it. I hope it gets better. Even if it doesn’t hurt too too bad, ill keep going as long as I can. It just would suck if my knees make me drop out. Every other aspect of this I’m enjoying. The exhaustion of the hikes, the soreness, and everything else I just love. It’s just a whole new life for this short period of time. It’s awesome

20130430-142700.jpg

20130430-142714.jpg

About Katie

I am Christian. I am the founder and Executive Director of Extraordinary Extras, a nonprofit which will use Fun Education to Fight Poverty in Developing Countries. Until the day I can move to the Philippines to start our first program, to make ends meet, I play poker for a living. I like to help people. I love hiking and aerial silks. I love Hip Hop and R&B music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment